Save the Children Dyer County Head Start

Save the Children Dyer County Head Start



About Us

Save the Children’s Head Start & Early Head start programs currently operate to assist our community’s most vulnerable children and families. Many programs across the country struggle to provide quality services that meet national standards and retain quality staff, leaving hundreds of vulnerable children left without early intervention opportunities.

Young children who lack these opportunities for early learning are forever left behind. 90% of brain development happens between the ages of birth to 5, so these are critical years in a child’s social/emotional development, physical development, cognitive, and language development.

Prior to moving into Tennessee, Save the Children had been awarded 6 Head Start grants in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and North Dakota.

In Tennessee, we now serve 6 Head Start/Early Head Start sites across 5 counties: Newbern, Dyersburg, Lauderdale, Covington, Crockett, and Fayette.

We provide our staff with weeks of intensive training that incorporate best practices. All classrooms and playgrounds are refurbished and transformed into safe, fun, and welcoming environments. Teachers are also equipped with research-based curriculum and classroom materials that help stimulate young minds and encourage physical activity.

All of these elements create an environment that gives our most vulnerable children and families the best chance for success, and inspires a lasting impact for underserved children in the communities that we serve.



Gallery Image STC_HS.PNG
Gallery Image 20220329_163610.jpg
Gallery Image 20220329_164106.jpg
Gallery Image 20220329_163716.jpg